Hunter’s Safety: A Nationwide Epidemic Blog #1

My name is Lane Price and I am a lifelong outdoors lover, including camping, hiking, fishing, but most importantly hunting.  I have been hunting for roughly 12 years now and I plan on continuing to hunt for all of the foreseeable future.  I know how hunting can bring friends and family closer and the moments I spent with my dad in the blind will always have a place in my heart.  Hunting is an adventure i think everyone should have the pleasure of experiencing at some point. Since this is near and dear to me, I love to see others who grow an appreciation for the outdoors and hunting, however, it breaks my heart to hear the tragic stories of accidents that happen to inexperienced hunters that could have been avoided with the proper safety knowledge.

I’ll start by saying that there are thousands of hunting accidents each year in continental North America with roughly 1000 of those accidents involving a hunter shooting another person and roughly 100 of those resulting in death.  I find this both heart-wrenching and atrocious.  I’ll also say that Maryland Department of Natural Resources puts on a mandatory Hunters Safety Course for anyone who wishes to buy a hunting license.  I took this course as a young child, somewhere around the age of 10, from what i can remember about the course, there were two days of lecture in a classroom, and then two days of outdoor setting training where everyone was required to shoot a gun on the final day as part of the test. I enjoyed the course and I think I learned many valuable lessons that have kept me extra cautious while hunting.  For the next ten years I believed i was adequately equipped with the knowledge i needed to keep me and my hunting partners safe.

Last month, my youngest sister and a family friend decided that they were ready for the course so we signed them up.  At the time they were unaware, but the stories they told me from their few days at the course made me extremely uneasy.  Over the next several weeks, I want to get in depth into how today’s youth are being trained when it comes to safety in the outdoors and how the overall attitudes of the instructors just may a contributing factor into an epidemic sweeping the country.

Until next week,

Lane

Leave a Reply

